ANSWERS: 3
  • That is not going to happen. A ball cannot change direction like that without it being touched. If they did not touch the ball it would be your point if the miracle was to happen and you were able to get to the ball. if you mean the ball climbs over the net and then drops back on your side you lose the point.
  • If you hit the ball over and it has enough back spin to come back untouched and bounces for a second time. It is your point. That has happened to me in several occasions. Only in this exception can the opposing player hit the ball on your side of the court (if he can get to it). That guy firebrand hasn't played tennis enough and definitely not a physicist. check this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cc1naddzgwk
  • According to USTA Rule 25.b., it is "A Good Return [following a serve]", "After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24 [not important for this question]". The same is true during a volley, except that the ball does not have to land in the opponent's correct court (i.e., a hit ball crosses the plane of the net, then is blown back by the wind; if the opponent fails to hit it before it has bounced twice - - and within the other rules - - then the hitter wins the point). FWIW, I was a USTA Provisional Referee.

Copyright 2023, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy