ANSWERS: 2
  • I don't know if there are any different rules in Iowa but yes it does count as a score because it was a Fumble and by rule the punt team can pick it up and run with it
  • A fumble after a punt that has been cleanly caught and possessed can be advanced by the kickers, a muffed attempt to catch the punt can only be recovered by them. Ball is dead where kickers recovered the muffed punt. Kicking team will then be awarded a first down at the spot of recovery. That rule's been around since the 1920s. Prior to that the kickers could advance their own kicks if they legally recovered them.

Copyright 2017, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy