• Oh Melbourne "Following a long dispute over whether Sydney or Melbourne should be the national capital, a compromise was reached: the new capital would be built in New South Wales, so long as it was no closer than 100 miles to Sydney, with Melbourne to be the temporary capital while the new capital was built. Canberra was chosen as the site in 1908, as a result of survey work done by the government surveyor Charles Scrivener." Source:
  • Technically that would have been London. 'On 1 January 1901, the six colonies became a federation, and the Commonwealth of Australia was formed. Since federation, Australia has maintained a stable liberal democratic political system and remains a Commonwealth Realm. The capital city is Canberra, located in the Australian Capital Territory. The population is 21 million, and is concentrated in the mainland state capitals of Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide.' Source:
  • I believe it was Sydney
  • There was none. Before federation in 1901, Australia was a series of colonies. These united to become one country. The colonies are now called states. Each colony had its own capital, which, when federation happened became the state capitals. In 1901, Canberra was built 'halfway' between the two largest state capitals (Melbourne and Sydney)

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy