ANSWERS: 2
  • According to the Govenor's Office of Highway Safety, 1,703 deaths due to motor vehicle crashes occurred in Georgia in 2006. Reckless driving laws in Georgia are designed to reduce the number of motor vehicle fatalities.

    Definition

    The offense of reckless driving is defined by Georgia Code as driving "in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property". It is a misdemeanor offense.

    Guidelines

    Georgia law does not specify what conditions constitute reckless driving, such as exceeding the speed limit by a certain amount. An arrest or citation for reckless driving is up to the discretion of the police officer.

    Punishment

    The punishment for a reckless driving conviction in the state of Georgia is a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months. Probation may be ordered in lieu of imprisonment.

    Suspension

    If convicted of reckless driving under the age of 21, a person's driver's license is automatically suspended. If over the age of 21, driver's license suspension requires the accrual of 15 points over a two-year period; a reckless driving conviction adds 4 points to the driver's driving record.

    Aggressive Driving

    Aggressive driving is an offense related to reckless driving that occurs when driving has the intention of annoying, harassing, obstructing or injuring another person. A conviction for aggressive driving is also a misdemeanor but has higher maximum fines (up to $5,000) and results in 6 points being added to a driver's record.

    Source:

    State of Georgia: Title 40. Chapter 6. Article 5. Reckless Driving

    Head, Thomas, Webb & Willis: Georgia Reckless Driving Lawyers

    Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer: Criminal Traffic Offenses

  • probably the same thing it is everywhere else

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy