ANSWERS: 35
  • Nopers!
  • They thought about making it illegal for under-25, i think, and then they got caught up in a hailstorm of "why 25, why not everyone?" and then dropped it altogether (Which is the opposite of what people wanted.)
  • Not right where I live but within the Chicago city limits it is. It is ok if you are using ahands-free device, though.
  • Not here yet. I hope it happens soon, though.
  • The new law here is scheduled to go into effect on July l.
  • Certain Parts
  • not yet, but I disagree with the law.....not because its hazardous, but because if they pass that, than shouldn't they also pass a law that doesn't allow you to eat while driving, or put on make-up? not that I think they should, but that I'm not sure its fair to pick on one, because just as many people wreck from eating.....any distraction is bad, so why are they only making one illegal?
  • Yes, but 99% of the drivers ignore the law.
  • It started in NYC and it spread to the whole state. It is illegal in NY but no one pays it any attention. EVERYONE seems to do it. It's frustrating.
  • No, But I see police officers doing it all the time... Do you think they will be held to the same standards as I if it were passed in my area?
  • It is not illegal where I live.
  • It is legal here which is good because I do most of my talking while driving a lot of times.
  • It has been a law here for a few years now. Most ignore it still. Our company has a policy in place that we all have hands free but if you are caught using the phone without it your on your own. What I hate most is people who can afford the likes of a Aston Martin vanquish but do not have a £40 blue tooth hands free.
  • Yes--now if I can just figure out the damn blue tooth..
  • It hasnt passed yet here in Las Vegas,but most trends,fads,and laws always get here in time from Cailfornia,our neighbor.(Also fkn gas prices) HAhaha
  • Yes it is here in New York. Has been a law for a few years already. I don't think it helps much, you can still talk on the cell phone using a hands free device. I think most of the problem with using cell phones while driving has to do not only with "holding" the phone, but with being distracted in general.
  • Yes, it is illegal at my place.
  • I believe it is. I just don't know how strict the implementation is.
  • yep its banned down here in Australia and has been for years ...but fools still do it even though its a $200+ fine and loss of points from their licence... even though you can gets a hands free for under $20...makes me wonder how these f*ckwits ever got a licence in the first place
  • Will become illegal in California this summer, I think. I'm sure we'll be notified of the exact date.
  • Almost every day, i issue a citation for someone talking on a cellphone, while driving their automobile. Although it is not now a violation of law to talk on a cellphone in the State of Tennessee, officers are issuing citations for careless driving. this charge cannot be issued alone, its a backup charge for violating other laws, like speeding. the cellphone useage is a contributing factor to speeding, by not paying attention to their driving.
  • It's illegal in NY and they can tell if you were using it at the time of the accident by simply looking at the time/date of the last call! Most kids are killing people just because they want to text their friends while driving! They shouldn't be permitted to have a license until the day before they're going to kick!
  • It has been illegal in Italy for several years now. However, from what I see, either I'm the only one who knows this or nobody else seems to care. If I think I might be getting a call while I'm driving I will plug in my earphone before I even start the care. If I didn't do that, I either will not answer or pull over to answer if that is an option.
  • No, but it should be.
  • yes , it was just passed a few months ago
  • Yeah I live in California. Jan 1 we can't text while driving anymore. This is strang to me because in my experiences, texting while driving is more dangerous than talking on the phone while driving.
  • Yes unless you are using a handsfree kit!
  • it is not illegal here, but ill-advised anywhere
  • yup has been for a while here in CA not that it stops most people though.
  • Yes. It is illegal here if you do not have a hands-free unit. However, it is a secondary charge. They have to pull you over for something else before they can ticket you for cell phone usage. Oddly enough, most people I know who have been in accidents were not using a cell phone (or the other driver was not using one if they were at fault) at the time of the accident.
  • Fox News Article – May 11, 2009 Here is a list of the current laws that each state has on the books concerning text messages and cell phone calls while driving. Alabama: No Laws Alaska: Illegal for all drivers with the enforcement being primary, meaning that a police officer can pull over a driver for sending a text message even if he isn’t breaking any other traffic laws. Arizona: Only bans school bus drivers from speaking on their cell phone Arkansas: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement California: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement Colorado: No Laws Connecticut: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement Delaware: Illegal for novice drivers with a GDL to send texts or make phone calls with primary enforcement. Also illegal for school bus drivers to make phone calls. D.C.: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement Florida: No Laws Georgia: Only bans school bus drivers from speaking on their cell phone Hawaii: No Laws Idaho: No Laws Illinois: Only bans school bus drivers and those under 19 from speaking on their cell phone Indiana: Only bans those under 18 from talking or texting on a cell phone Iowa: No Laws Kansas: Only bans those with a learners license from talking or texting on a cell phone Kentucky: Only bans school bus drivers from speaking on their cell phone Louisiana: Illegal for all drivers with secondary enforcement, meaning a driver can only be pulled over for a different traffic violation and then ticketed for cell phone usage Maine: Only bans those under 18 from talking or texting on a cell phone Maryland: Only bans those under 18 from talking or texting on a cell phone Massachusetts: Only bans school bus drivers from speaking on their cell phone Michigan: No Laws Minnesota: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement Mississippi: Only illegal for those with a learner's license to text while driving Missouri: No Laws Montana: No Laws Nebraska: Illegal for all drivers with secondary enforcement Nevada: No Laws New Hampshire: No Laws New Jersey: Illegal for all drivers with primary enforcement New Mexico: No Laws New York: Only bans school bus drivers from speaking on their cell phone North Carolina: Only bans school bus drivers and those under 19 from speaking on their cell phone North Dakota: No Laws Ohio: No Laws Oklahoma: No Laws Oregon: Only illegal for those with a learner's license to text while driving Pennsylvania: No Laws Rhode Island: Only illegal for school bus drivers and those under 18 to talk on cell phones while driving South Carolina: No Laws South Dakota: No Laws Tennessee: Only illegal for school bus drivers and those under 18 to talk on cell phones while driving Texas: Only illegal for school bus drivers and those under 18 to talk or text on cell phones while driving Utah: Illegal for all drivers with secondary enforcement Vermont: No Laws Virginia: Illegal for all drivers with secondary enforcement Washington: Illegal for all drivers with secondary enforcement West Virginia: Only illegal for those with a learner's license to talk or text on cell phones while driving Wisconsin: No Laws Wyoming: No Laws
  • Yes, in Washington, but the driver has to do something else to be pulled over and ticketed.
  • It's banned here.
  • its illegal here even though i see so many people on the phone while they are driving. how stupid can people get, i have even seen people texting while driving

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy