• The Urdu alphabet is the right to left alphabet used for the Urdu language. It is a modification of the Persian alphabet, which is itself a derivative of the Arabic alphabet. Urdu is typically written in the calligraphic Nasta'liq script, whereas Arabic is more commonly in the Naskh style. Usually, bare transliterations of UrdÅ« into Roman letters omit many phonemic elements that have no equivalent in English or other languages commonly written in the Roman alphabet. National Language Authority of Pakistan has developed a number of systems with specific notations to signify non-English sounds, but these can only be properly read by someone already familiar with UrdÅ«, Persian, or Arabic for letters such as:Ú˜ Ø® غ Ø· ص or Ù‚ and Hindi for letters such as Ú‘. *

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy