ANSWERS: 3
  • You must check with your local police department. I live in California and remember calling and checking. I was told that if something happens due to lack of safety and no supervision, the parent will be cited if the child is under 18. Seems wild, but that was the answer then. If nothing ever happens, then you can pick the age but it's a gamble either way.
  • "Virginia law is not specific about the age a child may be left alone, but the decision should never be based on age alone." - Chesterfield County, VA Social Services There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages specified in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. http://www.latchkey-kids.com/latchkey-kids-age-limits.htm provides a state by state comparison with references. This site also provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work).
  • not sure but when i was little my 10 yr old brother would babysit me and my twin sister who were 7 and my 4 yrs old brother, we all managed to grow up okay

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy