• Five (according to some)
  • There are 4 named oceans in the world. They are the Pacific, Atlantic, Arctic, and Indian Oceans.
  • 1. Pacific Ocean 2. Atlantic Ocean 3. Indian Ocean 4. Southern Ocean 5. Arctic Ocean
  • They are the Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, and the Artic. At least that is what was taught when I was a kid. Now I keep seeing list with the Southern Ocean. So the answer may differ from person to person accord to the age of the person answering.
  • Atlantic, Pacific, Arctic and Indian. 4....
  • Correction: Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, Artic (North Pole) and the Antarctic Ocean (South Pole).....5
  • It depends how you count or how you define an ocean. 1) One: "Though generally recognized as several 'separate' oceans, these waters comprise one global, interconnected body of salt water often referred to as the World Ocean or global ocean. This concept of a global ocean as a continuous body of water with relatively free interchange among its parts is of fundamental importance to oceanography." 2) Usually five (according to the most accepted definition): "The major oceanic divisions are defined in part by the continents, various archipelagos, and other criteria: these divisions are (in descending order of size) the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Southern Ocean (which is sometimes subsumed as the southern portions of the Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian Oceans), and the Arctic Ocean (which is sometimes considered a sea of the Atlantic). The Pacific and Atlantic may be further subdivided by the equator into northerly and southerly portions. Smaller regions of the oceans are called seas, gulfs, bays and other names. There are also some smaller bodies of saltwater that are on land and not interconnected with the World Ocean, such as the Aral Sea, and the Great Salt Lake – though they may be referred to as 'seas', they are actually salt lakes." 3) Three: "Geologically, an ocean is an area of oceanic crust covered by water. Oceanic crust is the thin layer of solidified volcanic basalt that covers the Earth's mantle where there are no continents. From this perspective, there are three oceans today: the World Ocean and the Caspian and Black Seas, the latter two having been formed by the collision of Cimmeria with Laurasia. The Mediterranean Sea is very nearly a discrete ocean, being connected to the World Ocean through the Strait of Gibraltar, and indeed several times over the last few million years movement of the African continent has closed the strait off entirely. The Black Sea is connected to the Mediterranean through the Bosporus, but this is in effect a natural canal cut through continental rock some 7,000 years ago, rather than a piece of oceanic sea floor like the Strait of Gibraltar." Source and further information (points 1 to 3): 4) Seven: "After the Europeans discovered America, some people used the term Seven Seas to refer to seven of the biggest bodies of water in the world: The Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, the Caribbean Sea, and the Gulf of Mexico. Some modern geographical classification schemes count seven oceans in the world: The North Pacific Ocean, the South Pacific Ocean, the North Atlantic Ocean, the South Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Southern Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean." Source and further information: 5) Some information about the Southern Ocean: "The Southern Ocean, also known as the Great Southern Ocean, the Antarctic Ocean and the South Polar Ocean, comprises the southernmost waters of the World Ocean south of 60° S latitude. The International Hydrographic Organization has designated the Southern Ocean as an oceanic division encircling Antarctica. Geographers disagree on the Southern Ocean's northern boundary or even its existence (see below), sometimes considering the waters part of the South Pacific, South Atlantic, and Indian Oceans instead." "The International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) regards the Southern Ocean as the fourth-largest of the five principal oceanic divisions and the latest-defined one. The IHO promulgated the decision on its existence in 2000, though many mariners have long regarded the term as traditional. The Southern Ocean appeared in the IHO's Limits of Oceans and Seas second edition (1937), disappeared from the third edition (1957), and re-surfaced in the fourth edition (not yet formally adopted due to a number of unresolved disputes, including the lodgement of a reservation by Australia." Source and further information:
  • There are 4 .
  • Arctic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Indian Ocean Pacific Ocean Southern Ocean 5
  • 5 pacific atlantic indic north frozen south frozen

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy