ANSWERS: 3
  • good questions...my gut response is the gluten in the flour...but I know egg is also used to bind things together....
  • The binder is traditionally eggs, but there are vegetarian binders as well. They are sold in natural food markets usually called egg substitutes, not to be mistaken for pure egg whites.
  • YOU can't just use egg in flapcakes. Too stiff. You still need a liquid like milk or buttermilk so you could say milk is a binder. But you can't leave out the flour. NO flour no binding. And don't forget the eggs. YOu really can't separate them and say 'this' is the binder. All the ingredients form flapjacks. Some may do something specific like rising or making tender but they all are binding.

Copyright 2017, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy