• Thomas Edison is generally credited as the inventor of the lightbulb, but man's quest for incandescent lighting began as early as 1809. There are seven basic lightbulb types, each with a specific purpose.


    Incandescents are standard lightbulbs typically used for everyday purposes in both homes and businesses. They have a lifespan of between 700 and 1,000 hours.


    Halogens are used in car headlights, floodlights spotlights and desk lamps. They are more expensive than incandescents, but last much longer and also burn much hotter: 572 degrees F.


    Fluorescents produce very little heat and last between 10,000 and 20,000 hours. They can be used just about anywhere in the home, but most cannot be used with a dimmer. Their light is too harsh for many everyday applications.

    High-Intensity Discharge Lamps

    The HID gives off a large amount of light from a fairly small bulb. These lamps are extremely energy-efficient and have a long life. They are typically used to light up large areas like gymnasiums, outdoor activity areas and pathways, and are also used in vehicles.


    LEDs, or light emitting diodes, are bulbs that don't have a filament. Their long life span and minimal power usage make them ideal for home use, but they don't emit enough light for practical use.

    Sodium Lamps

    A sodium light works on the same principle as the fluorescent bulb and requires a short warmup time before producing light. They produce a soft yellow-gold light, and are found in parking lots and other places where heavy use requires high conservation.


    Types of Lightbulbs

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy